skip to Main Content

Understanding Florida’s Motorcycle Law

A comprehensive guide to the ins and outs of legally operating a motorcycle in the Sunshine State

Florida’s climate and seemingly endless sunny days are irresistible to the thousands of licensed motorcycle operators throughout the country. Motorcyclists are subject to additional rules and regulations and it is important to be well-versed in these laws before you take to the roads.

Those wishing to operate motorcycles must pass an additional Basic Rider Course offered through the Florida Rider Trainer Program to have a motorcycle endorsement added to their standard Class E license. Florida has reciprocal privileges for motorcyclists that have obtained endorsement in another state excluding Alabama.

In addition to additional licensing requirements, Florida motorcycle law also dictates when proper equipment and headgear is to be worn. Motorcyclists are required to wear protective headgear unless he or she 21 years of age or older and has at least $10,000 in medical insurance for injuries.

Motorcyclists are subject to the same traffic laws as other motorists. It is unlawful to operate a motorcycle if your Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) is .08 or greater. If you are convicted of driving a motorcycle under the influence of drugs or alcohol, you may face:

  • Mandatory license suspension
  • Community service
  • Probation
  • Hefty fines
  • Jail time

The severity of punishment varies depending on the driver’s prior history of DUI convictions and the seriousness of the injuries resulting from the accident. Motorcycles are inherently dangerous and operators and riders are more vulnerable to suffering serious injuries. The most common injuries associated with motorcycle accidents include:

  • Traumatic brain injuries and concussions
  • Broken bones
  • Lacerations, bruises and road burns
  • Neck and spinal cord injuries

If you or a loved one has been involved in a motorcycle accident, we have the answers to all your legal questions and are ready to guide you through the process of obtaining compensation. Call 561-293-2600 or contact us online to schedule a free consultation at our Boca Raton office.

Back To Top